Australian Core Skills Framework

What is the ACSF?

The five core skills

The Australian Core Skills Framework (ACSF) outlines five core skills that are essential for individuals to participate effectively in our society.

These skills are:

  • Learning
  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Oral Communication
  • Numeracy

The ACSF is designed to support a consistent national approach to identifying and developing these core skills. It provides shared concepts and lanaguage for identifying, describing and discussing core skills. It also provides an approach for benchmarking, monitoring and reporting on performance of core skills.

Watch videos about the LLN and the ACSF by clicking the images on the right.

Key features of the ACSF

The five core skills outlined in the ACSF are described across three areas:

  • Performance (from 1: Low level performance to 5: High level performance)
  • Performance variables (Support, Context, Text complexity and Task complexity)
  • Domains of communication (Personal and community, Workplace and employment and EducatIon and training)

Each level of the five levels of performance are described using:

  • indicators: statements that provide an overview of exit performance at each level
  • focus areas: aspects within each indicators against which performance features are organised
  • performance features: descriptors of what an individual could do at each level
  • sample activities: specific examples of what someone could do at a particular level.


Key features of the ACSF

Applying the ACSF

The ACSF in action

ACSF downloads